Dear Henry

Dear Henry,

It’s been a while since I wrote you one of these. It’s hard work taking care of a Henry. Hard, but the best. Really. The best.

You’re 6 months old today. Half a year old.

henry6months

I honestly don’t know where the time has gone. You do something new every day and you’re changing so quickly. I just try to take in every single stage of your life as it comes and savor it because you’ll be on to something new soon. I even cherish the not-so-fun times. The other night, your dad and I put you to bed early because you were fussing more than usual. You fell asleep quickly, but about 2 hours in to dreamland, you woke up SCREAMING. Now, whenever you cry like this, it alarms us. We kinda freak out because you, my sweet baby, are not a big cryer and definitely not a big screamer. You are a fuss-pot sometimes, but that’s usually as far as it goes. Anyway, you wouldn’t go back to sleep unless one of us was holding you, so I quickly got ready for bed and laid you down next to me. You let out a big sigh, and fell asleep. I just stared at you, trying to take a mental polaroid, so I would never forget how sweet you looked curled up in my arms. I eventually fell asleep, too.

Turns out, your bottom teeth were finally sprouting and that’s what caused all of the extra discomfort. See? You always have a reason. In all honestly, you are one of the happiest babies I’ve ever come across. You’re always smiling. You’re always happy to see us. You’re just very content to be wherever you are.

henryhappy“Little body, big smile.”  I think they made that with you in mind.

At 6 months old:

  • sleeping ALL THE WAY through the night. Every night. (8 pm – 6 am)
  • you take about 3-4 naps a day, and you fight only half of them
  • you’re sitting up on your own
  • you’re trying really hard to crawl (you’ll get there soon)
  • you love splashing in the bath
  • you love jumping in your door jumper thing
  • you’re eating all kinds of food and LOVING it (your grandma calls you a foodie because you love trying new things and you eat a lot)
  • you’re getting pretty good at holding that bottle all by yourself

henrybottle

  • you’re giggling and babbling a ton
  • everything is going in the mouth
  • your bottom teeth finally came in (and you love chomping on mom and dad’s fingers)
  • you’re playing a lot more on your own and I love watching you explore

henryplaying

  • you wave hello and goodbye when prompted
  • You protest loudly when I take away a toy, fresh food feeder, or anything else you grabbed and put in your mouth
  • You love Itsy Bitsy Spider. With our without hand movements, doesn’t matter. If I’m singing it, you’re smiling.

I hope you stay this happy forever. Your dad and I will do everything in our power to make sure you do. And no, that does not mean all the G.I. Joes you ask for. Just like, love and stuff. Lots and lots of love, laughter, and kisses. You are the center of our universe and I’m not ashamed. Everything revolves around you. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next six months and beyond.

Love,

Mom

One thought on “Dear Henry

Leave a Reply

