Keeping of the house.

Lately, I’ve been putting a lot of pressure on myself to be a better housekeeper. That’s what stay at home moms are supposed to do, right? Take care of child and home? Maybe do some cooking? Well, that’s what I thought anyway. But taking care of an infant has proved to be a full-time job in of itself, so I’m lucky if I get the kitchen clean and laundry folded. After all, I spend a lot of time doing stuff like this:

henrymirrorOh, hey good lookin’.

There is no reason for the extra added pressure (like I don’t already have enough). Chris doesn’t care. As soon as he walks in the door at night, I’ll apologize profusely for the messy living room and he’s like, “It’s ok, you’re busy!” Then I’ll tell him that he can sit down and I’ll make dinner. “Nah, you’ve been working all day, I’ll cook dinner.” What a guy, eh? But despite this, I’m still determined. As Henry is getting older and less needy of A-L-L of my time, I’m going to pull my act together. Dinner might not be ready, but I have a threshold of messiness and dirt I can live in and we are bordering that now. And if a guest is coming over, it’s got to be spotless. My mom drilled that one into my head from an early age. Even when I lived in the on-campus apartment in college, I would scrub the toilets before I had a guest come over. The school had a cleaning service — didn’t matter.

Henry will be crawling in a few short months and I am paying a professional carpet cleaning service before his precious little hands touches the floor. I have a feeling my OCD need to clean will be in hyperdrive then. The Swiffer Wet Jet might be perma-attached to my person, along with a can of Lysol. We’ll see.

With the baby sleeping 10 hours a night these days (with one nourishment break at around the 7.5-8 hour mark), I also have more time to blog! I’m sure you’re all super excited about that. I don’t feel the need to go to bed as soon as he closes his eyes because I know I have a buffer of time. Time to do nothing but be myself in our office and write, or fart around on Facebook, or read my favorite sites like this, this, aaaaaaaand of course, this. So that’s good that I’m using my spare time wisely, huh?

Any other time suck websites I should be aware of? I’m not too into food blogs or healthy living blogs. Who really eats that much quinoa? No one, that’s who.

 

4 thoughts on “Keeping of the house.

    • Fo’ real. Most of those blogs just come off a pretentious and fake. Like, “look at me and my healthy meal!” When you know their freezer is full of totinos’s pizza rolls.

  1. Baaaaaaaahaha!! MY blog is a healthy living/food mishmash, and you totally hit the nail on the head. Though I don’t have taquitos and Hot Pockets in my freezer, I do write my blog posts with a big ol’ bag of chocolate chips sitting next to me. (Does it make me more or less of a tryhard if they’re allergen-free and organic? Because they totally are.)

    If you’re looking for new timesucks on the Interwebz, look at mistergkids.com. This guy is a substitute teacher and draws comics based on his interactions with students. I like it – probably because I’m a teacher, though.

    Your baby has a cute face, by the way. But you probably already knew that. 🙂

    • Well thank you! His little face sure does melt my heart.

      And any sort of chocolate is ok with me, so you sound totally legit!

      Thanks for the site suggestion, I’m gonna check, check it out. (As well as your blog!)

Leave a Reply

