Dear Henry

Dear Henry,

You’re 8 weeks old today. I can hardly believe it. Time is going by too fast. Part of me wants to press pause and just enjoy you at this sweet age forever. Another part of me can’t wait to see you grow and continue to change — to see you crawl, talk, walk, use a toilet.

henrymat

Yesterday, I put away a lot of your newborn clothes. I stopped at the outfit you wore home from the hospital, the outfit I nervously bought when I first found out I was pregnant, and just stared at it. A flood of emotions came over me. I looked at that outfit a lot during the 9 months you were in my belly, just praying everyday that everything would work out and I’d get to see you in it. Of course, I did, several times. Now that you’ve outgrown it…well, it just tugs at my heart a little. Or a lot. I’m keeping that outfit forever, by the way.

You finally graduated into size 1 diapers and now wear some of your size 3 month clothing, which makes me very happy. You grew slowly at first, thanks to reasons beyond our control, but I swallowed my pride and did what I had to do to get you caught up. Looking at you everyday, and just how happy and sweet natured you are, I know I’ve made the right decisions so far. The big parenting F ups are yet to come, I’m sure.

Grandma Suzanne can’t get enough of you. She’s got Henry fever and the only cure is more Henry. I am so thankful for this because when she’s here I get to do things like clean and take a shower. After a while  you start fussing for your mama and I’m glad to take you back. There is nothing that makes me more happy than holding you.

Sleep is getting better. You sleep about 5-6 hours straight for the first half (as I call it). Then you wake up hungry and usually go back to sleep quickly. However you treat the second half more like a daytime nap. So that’s when I put you in bed with me and you do much better. I love waking up next to you but I will not cry when you start sleeping through the night.

You’re hitting some milestones: holding your head up (even sitting nicely in your Bumbo chair), grabbing and holding things, smiling and cooing a lot, and other baby stuff. To be honest, I think you’re a baby genius, but you’re probably just right on track. Not that you won’t be a genius later, I am almost 100% positive you will.

We’re getting out of the house more as a family and just the two of us. It’s nice to get back to a normal routine. You’re a great shopping buddy.

henrystore

Favorite song: Itsy Bitsy Spider (you love all the hand action happening)

My favorite song to sing to you today: Sea of Love

Favorite toy: Still love that play mat. Actually, I think you love it more and more each day. There’s just so much to discover. The monkey bouncer is growing on you though.

henry bouncer

You’re beautiful and I love you.

Forever,

Mom

Leave a Reply

