Jinx.

Immediately after I pressed “publish” on yesterday’s post on routines, I realized that I forgot to mention a couple things:

  1. Henry is just shy of 8 weeks old, and I know our routines will go through many incarnations over the months and years; and
  2. Now that I’ve put the routine down in writing, it will change

It hasn’t changed overnight, but I’m noticing it’s beginning the shift, especially in the evenings. The past couple nights, Henry is particularly fussy. I chalked it up to being close to bedtime and having a sleepy baby on my hands. After all, the night before last he slept from 9 pm – 2 am, then 2:30 am – 7 am. I had a feeling last night was going to be different. I don’t know how many hours of sleep I got. Probably 4 or 5 broken up into 1 hour spurts.

I’m trying not to jump up with every sound he makes. So, I wake up when he’s in his bassinet just grunting or whatever, and I listen. Most times, he’ll go back to sleep. If he starts crying, I pick him up, change the diaper, wrap him back up and sing him back to sleep. Last night, as soon (AND I MEAN AS SOON) as I put my head back down on the pillow, he’d be grunting again. Then it would turn into crying. So, I fed him, I cuddled him, changed another diaper. Put him back down. I stood over his bassinet until he was out cold. If I was standing, he was sleeping. I laid down and felt my heavy eyelids finally begin to close.

“WAHH!”

Either I’m just good natured (hardly) or sleep deprived, but I had to find humor in the situation. I couldn’t stop laughing. I got up and looked in his bassinet and he gave me the biggest, gummiest smile.  Is it possible for a baby to mess with you? Finally, I put him in bed with me and I think we got a good 2 hours of uninterrupted sleep.

During the day, he is turning into the Mohammed Ali of fighting sleep now, which is awesome. I had to take him for a walk today to get him to really sleep. Even his swing wasn’t cutting it this morning. He is currently parked in the living room, fast asleep.

henrystroller

 

Nope. Spoke too soon. I’m being beckoned.

Leave a Reply

