One month.

I can’t believe it’s been one month already since little Mouse* was brought into this world. He seems so much older to me now.  He’s sleeping longer at night, he’s smiling when I sing him songs (his new favorite), he’s already lifting his head up, and he LOVES taking a bath.

baby bathHeaven. I could stay in here forever.

We are also getting our daily routine down. Wake up around 6 or 7, he eats, I eat, he naps, I pay bills/clean/fold laundry/organize/sleep/mess around on the internet/watch TV (this repeats several times a day), tummy time, play time, reading time, song time, bath at around 9, in bed by 10. And about a dozen diaper changes sporadically thrown in.

I’m healing really well from the c-section and getting used to the exhaustion, which makes things easier. I am really just enjoying this stage in his life, since he’ll never be this tiny again. This involves letting go of new mom nerves and relaxing. Much easier said than done.

I used to wonder why stay at home moms would count down to Friday along with the rest of us. Isn’t it all the same to them? I TOTALLY GET IT NOW. On the weekends, I have my husband here who can help me. He can change diapers, he can put him down for his nap, he can play with him. Mom finally gets a little time off on the weekends, and maybe a little more sleep. I am TGIF’ing like crazy today.

Other milestones:

  • Henry is now finally above his birth weight by several ounces. In other news, our pediatrician is a saint for putting up with me.
  • Breastfeeding is slowly getting better, which is great. I’m still supplementing, but whatever. It is what it is, and Henry is as healthy as a horse. I must be doing something right.
  • He’s putting himself to sleep now at night. I just lay him down in his bassinet right when he’s at the brink of sleep. He lays there and moves around for a while, then falls asleep. It’s a beautiful thing.

I’ve seen people track their baby’s monthly growth by placing them next to a stuffed animal. I thought it only appropriate to do the same with Yoda:

baby yodaGrowing, he is.” – Chris, when I texted him the picture. Don’t worry, Henry. You’ll be bigger than the Jedi Master before too long.

I know you are all wondering who the professional illustrator is who drew the sign. That would be me, one handed with a sleeping baby on the other arm. Not too shabby, considering.

*Henry makes the cutest little squeaking sounds when he’s sleeping or falling asleep. I started calling him Mouse and it’s sticking. My husband calls me Monkey, and now we have a Mouse. Monkey & Mouse. I should turn that into a children’s book.

One thought on “One month.

Leave a Reply

