Shake that booty.

I used one of my remaining vacation days at work yesterday to tackle the 3 hour glucose test. I got there as soon as they opened, 6 am, and I felt nauseous before I even drank the crap. Fasting when you’re almost 34 weeks pregnant is not easy. The tech was a little wet behind the ears, but nice enough. He told me that the vast majority of women don’t make it the entire 3 hours before throwing up. Great. Thanks, dude.

I brought an iPad and watched some movies, which helped keep my mind off my queasiness a little bit. At the 1 hour draw mark, I noticed they were late getting me. So I went to the front desk and told them. It took them 10 minutes to call me back.  I was beyond pissed off. I told the tech that I wasn’t going to be here longer than I needed to and I sure as hell wasn’t re-doing this test, so he needed to remember me for the next 2 draws. At that point, I broke down into tears. Embarrassing. After he drew my blood, I went into the bathroom and cried for 15 minutes like a maniac. I was hungry, thirsty, tired, shaky, and really mad. The tears just kept coming and I was defenseless against them.

After that, I went outside for some fresh air and saw some people getting ready for an early morning balloon ride. It’s amazing how quickly I calmed down just by watching some damn balloons inflate.

It must be the pretty colors.

The next two hours went rather quickly, thankfully. And I didn’t puke! By the time I got home, I was so drained. I ate some food and passed out cold for a few hours. Then I woke up, answered my husband’s text messages, and promptly passed out again for a couple more hours. I’m so glad I had the foresight to take the day off.

Now I wait to see if I passed. I honestly think I did, but who knows. I’ve got a little over a month left in this pregnancy, so worst case scenario is I have to change up my diet a little for the remaining days. No biggie. I’ll do what I need to do.

In other baby news, the baby shifted again today. He’s been head down for a while, but his head was nestled on my left side and his butt on the upper right of my belly. This morning, I actually saw his little butt move to the middle of my belly. Then it started moving back and forth. He was shaking his booty! I called Chris in to see, and we both laughed. He’s already the light of our lives and we couldn’t be more crazy about this baby. I can’t wait to hold him.

Ok guys and gals. Make sure you vote on Tuesday (or before). Chris and I went last week to get the early vote on. There is no excuse for not voting, so just doooo it.

 

3 thoughts on “Shake that booty.

  1. Aww…I was all ready to write some consoling message about hormones and blood sugar being evil conspirators but then you wrote about him shaking his booty. TOO cute!!! I’m sure you’ll be fine..and like you said, not much longer left if you do need to make a few small changes.

Leave a Reply

Shake that booty.

I used one of my remaining vacation days at work yesterday to tackle the 3 hour glucose test. I got there as soon as they opened, 6 am, and I felt nauseous before I even drank the crap. Fasting when you’re almost 34 weeks pregnant is not easy. The tech was a little wet behind the ears, but nice enough. He told me that the vast majority of women don’t make it the entire 3 hours before throwing up. Great. Thanks, dude.
Bbbnnj DcI brought an iPad and watched some movies, which helped keep my mind off my queasiness a little bit. At the 1 hour draw mark, I noticed they were late getting me. So I went to the front desk and told them. It took them 10 minutes to call me back.  I was beyond pissed off. I told the tech that I wasn’t going to be here longer than I needed to and I sure as hell wasn’t re-doing this test, so he needed to remember me for the next 2 draws. At that point, I broke down into tears. Embarrassing. After he drew my blood, I went into the bathroom and cried for 15 minutes like a maniac. I was hungry, thirsty, tired, shaky, and really mad. The tears just kept coming and I was defenseless against them.

After that, I went outside for some fresh air and saw some people getting ready for an early morning balloon ride. It’s amazing how quickly I calmed down just by watching some damn balloons inflate.

It must be the pretty colors.

The next two hours went rather quickly, thankfully. And I didn’t puke! By the time I got home, I was so drained. I ate some food and passed out cold for a few hours. Then I woke up, answered my husband’s text messages, and promptly passed out again for a couple more hours. I’m so glad I had the foresight to take the day off.

Now I wait to see if I passed. I honestly think I did, but who knows. I’ve got a little over a month left in this pregnancy, so worst case scenario is I have to change up my diet a little for the remaining days. No biggie. I’ll do what I need to do.

In other baby news, the baby shifted again today. He’s been head down for a while, but his head was nestled on my left side and his butt on the upper right of my belly. This morning, I actually saw his little butt move to the middle of my belly. Then it started moving back and forth. He was shaking his booty! I called Chris in to see, and we both laughed. He’s already the light of our lives and we couldn’t be more crazy about this baby. I can’t wait to hold him.

Ok guys and gals. Make sure you vote on Tuesday (or before). Chris and I went last week to get the early vote on. There is no excuse for not voting, so just doooo it.

 

Leave a Reply

