A week 6 retrospective (and other stuff)

Shortly after I found out I was pregnant, I started journaling my symptoms and experience. I thought I’d start sharing what I went through week by week for those women who want to know what they might expect if /when they become pregnant, any pregnant women who want to compare, or just anyone with nothing better to do, I guess.

I’ll start with this: don’t pee on a stick until the day of your missed period. I took the early response tests 4 days before (negative) and 2 days before (negative). On the day my period was due, I grabbed the only test I had left, which was a digital. It took FOREVER to pop up a result. And it was good news.

clear blue digital positive

After I woke Chris up to tell him the news, I snapped this picture. It’s one of my most favorite pictures of all time. We’d been trying to get pregnant for a while, and after all the emotions from the miscarriage, I can’t even explain how happy seeing that word made me.

On to the symptoms:

Week 6:

Holy hell, I am lightheaded. Just kinda all the time. When I get it in the shower, it’s like stepping into Space Mountain without the fun.

My boobs have already grown a cup size I am sure of it. The last thing I needed was more boob. They also KILL me. I can’t sleep on my tummy anymore, so now I am sleeping in these awkward side or back positions that make my body hurt.

Morning sickness isn’t too bad yet, but I’ve had moments. So far, I’ve woken up a few times in the middle of the night feeling barfy.

I am always thirsty, and I drink 60 gallons of water a day. Or very close to it. Weird taste in my mouth all the time.

Pregnancy brain already setting in. Could be the fatigue. Oh, did I mention I am always exhausted?

I told you exhaustion was the new theme of my life. And pregnancy brain is oh-so-real. A couple weeks ago, a friend and I went to see a movie. I asked her what she wanted to drink from the concession stand. She gave me a very clear answer in English that I must have understood well enough to say OK and get up. By the time I made it in line, I barely remembered even asking her the question and had ZERO recollection of her response. I guessed Diet Coke and thankfully I was right. I was so close to getting Sprite. I have a dozen other examples, but I can’t really remember them. Kinda scary.

In other news, the big anatomy ultrasound (where they can maybe tell you the gender if baby cooperates) was moved up from July 26 to July 23. I am so excited and anxious just to make sure little bean is healthy. Finding out the gender is an added perk. I’ve been feeling like it’s a girl, and Chris thinks it’s a boy.

One of us is right.

Leave a comment