Random stuff.

Today was a busy day.

We had our monthly OB appointment this AM. Just a quickie listen to the heartbeat and tell me everything looks good. Chris and I were talking about how the doctor’s mood has shifted so much since our first appointment. Maybe she was having a bad day that day, but our fist appointment was basically just a stern talking to about not gaining weight and risks that overweight mothers face. The last couple appointments, my weight hasn’t changed and my blood pressure and labs came back “perfect” (her words), so she is much more relaxed. She comes in laughing and joking with us, with zero mention about my weight. Thank god, because I wouldn’t be able to handle the monthly reminders. I’m sure that will change as the months go on…

Work was crazy busy, but I got so much done. I love that feeling of accomplishment. I did feel the bean moving all day, which made it a little harder to focus because it’s so cool. Of course, I was exhausted, so I drank a real Dr. Pepper in the afternoon. GASP! The first caffeine/sugar drink I’ve had in a long time. It helped. The baby liked it, too.

When I got home and checked the mail, I found a gift from our good friends in LA, Christine and Jake. Our first baby gift! It’s the cutest little baby Pooh doll from Disneyland. I love it so much and will always cherish it as baby’s first bear.

I also got the clothes I ordered, which include a new dress. That will make the 4th dress I’ve bought so far this summer. You know what’s comfortable when you’re pregnant? Dresses. My jeans still fit me, but the rubber band trick isn’t going to do the trick for much longer.

Now, I’m about to crawl into bed and continue reading Bringing Up Bebe. I’ve heard a ton of good things about this book, but I get super annoyed at all the “french are better than Americans at xxx” rhetoric. This book is nothing like that. First of all, it reads like a novel. I couldn’t put it down the first night I got it. Secondly, the author does not romanticize France or Paris at all. She speaks very honestly about the ups and downs of living in Paris and getting along with Parisians. This book is more of an observation on how the French raise their children from her point of view. If I can even pick up a morsel of helpful info on how to raise a happier child, then it’s worth it.

I’ll give a full review when I’m done.

Bonne nuit!

 

Leave a Reply

