Ch-ch-chia! Seeds that you eat.

My mom called me yesterday and told me that Dr. Oz had something on his show about the Chia plant and how its seeds are a super food. I don’t usually buy into this stuff, but I looked it up online. Apparently, these seeds have more Omega-3 than salmon and more antioxidants than blueberries. Now, we think of Chia because of the stupid Chia Pets you get at Walgreens or whatever. But these are different somehow. First of all, it’s the seed, not the plant that have good stuff in them. Secondly, don’t eat the Chia Pet seeds. They aren’t FDA approved and probably have poop in them or something.

I went to the Vitamin Shoppe today and picked up a big ol’ container of the ground seed. If you get it ground up, it’s a little more versatile. Also, more expensive, just FYI.

I am not going to fully vouch for this stuff until I’ve consumed it for a while, but it’s supposed to suppress appetite (because it expands in your stomach), give you energy, decrease blood pressure, cut cravings, and balance your blood sugar.

First test: for lunch, I made some oatmeal and put a heaping teaspoon of this stuff in it. It tastes like nothing, so I didn’t notice it in there. I do feel fuller after eating the little bowl of oatmeal than I normally would, and I feel re-energized, but these could all be coincidental.

I will keep using it and report back results. If I start growing grass out of various orifices, then I asked for it.

If you are curious, you can read more about it: http://www.rawreform.com/content/view/345/127/

4 thoughts on “Ch-ch-chia! Seeds that you eat.

  1. i have been eating chia seeds for awhile now. i dont notice any difference, but yeah, they are supposed to be amazing. the author of ‘Born to Run’ was ALL about them, he said it was the mexican version of gatorade. (they would mix the seeds with liquid)…just be careful on portion size…they are like any complex carb – you don’t want to over do it.

    u can get them cheap at by the pound at sunflower.

  2. Pingback: The Monday Munchies « Living, In Action

  3. Pingback: Wednesday Wins: 1/11/12 « Katy Wins!

Leave a Reply

