Summers

I hated summers in Los Angeles. I suffered through 4 of them, and so EXCITED to not be there this year. First, we didn’t have A/C in our apartment and that made life difficult. Second, the smoggy air got even more heavy and dense and I always had a bad cough. Who knows how many years it took off my life.

I’ve always loved New Mexico summers. I think it’s because I have so many happy memories that took place in New Mexico in the summer. I spent most of my childhood summers in Belen with my grandma, aunts, and cousins. We’d spend all day outside chasing grasshoppers and hiding in my grandma’s grapevines. My five cousins (all girls around my age) would go to summer program on Monday-Friday, then come home and put on dance routines or plays for my family. I miss those times.

When I got older, I spent the summers working, exercising, and partying.

One of the best summers ever is one that didn’t start out so great. It was 2003, and I had my heart broken a few months earlier. On top of that, my whole family picked up and moved to San Diego, so I was pretty lonely. I opted to stay in the dorms over the summer, even though no one was there (which was kinda cool, kinda weird), and I was working full time. The reason why I look back on that summer with fondness is because it helped me grow. I was alone, so I spent all my free time at the gym, reading books, or hanging out with friends. I lost a shit ton of weight (like 90 pounds) and started getting the attention of cute guys. That helped a lot.

Spending all of that time on me made me forget all about that boy who broke my heart. Well, I didn’t forget about him, but I wasn’t hurt anymore. I was ok, and excited about the future. I’m so thankful now for that heart ache and for that summer because it made me who I am. It brought me to where I am, with Chris and happy. It made me a better person.

The next couple summers, I was working at the Daily Lobo with awesome people. Hanging out with Derek. Going to shows. Being with Robert and Charlie. I have some CRAZY stories about the summers of 2004 and 2005. That will have to be a whole other blog someday.

I have big plans for this summer. I want to spend more time doing things with my husband. Ride bikes, go hiking, grilling every dinner, soaking up the sun, and getting healthy again.

It’s going to be a good one. My first New Mexico summer as Mrs. Chris Kosek. It can’t get any better than that.

One thought on “Summers

  1. cheers to lovely new mexico summers! cheers to doing the Gazelle at Burts and working in the hot smelly Lobo newsroom every summer. I agree, summers here are zee best.

Leave a Reply

